I wish I liked anything as much as my kids like bubbles.

Dan and I are at Wal-Mart, killing time while we wait for satellite radio to be installed in his car. We mosey over to the video games and see that Uncharted 2: Among Thieves is the selected game for the PS3. We watch a six-year-old kid fiddle with the game for a moment and are about to walk away when a tiny voice pipes up:

“Excuse me!”

We turn around the six-year-old is looking up at Dan.

“Can you help me? I can’t win this!”

Dan looks at the kid and smiles.

“Alright, buddy. Let’s see what we can do.”

Having already beaten the level months ago, Dan makes quick work vanquishing the foe (a heavy artillery truck thundering behind Nathan Drake much like the boulder behind Indiana Jones).

The kid’s eyes light up and he starts jumping up and down.

“You did it! You did it! You beat it!”

The boys high-five…and then, this little boy, this complete stranger flings his arms around my fiance and gives him a huge hug.

The kid lets go, we say bye and as we walk away, we can hear the kid telling anyone in a ten foot radius, “We did it! Did you see? We did it!”

It was a pretty great moment that illustrated three things:

1. Kids rule. They wear their hearts on their sleeves and are better for it. We should all be so honest.
2. Dan is gonna be a great dad one day.
3. My fiance rocks a video game controller like no-one’s business.

2 thoughts on “I wish I liked anything as much as my kids like bubbles.

Leave a Reply

