Holy Shit, I Love You! Or, Five Things I Love Right Now: A Classy Version of HSILY

Drea is much classier than me and instead of casually cursing when announcing how much she loves something, she does it eloquently and features pretty pictures.

So, for this round of HSILY, I figured I’d follow her example.

1. The Lover’s Dictionary by David Levithan.

He writes about love with humor, honesty and grace…which is pretty much the way love should go. I was first introduced to his work when I read Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist and I’m really looking forward to reading the rest of his work.

2. Popcorn

Thanks to the lovely ladies at We Are Not Martha, I learned that popcorn has more antioxidants than fruit. I don’t believe in that microwave crap that gives you black lung, so I make popcorn the way all women in my family do — popped on the stove and seasoned with cumin, chili powder, salt and sugar.

3. The smell of grass

I’m turning into a hippie or something. All I want is a grassy backyard, warm weather, dogs running around and a wheatgrass smoothie gin and tonic with lots of fresh lime.

4. Warm Krispy Kreme Glazed Donuts.

I don’t really like sweet breakfasts. I’d much rather chow down on a well-toasted buttery bagel or hash browns and eggs doused in Cholula, but there is one exception – a medium iced coffee and one warm Krispy Kreme glazed donut. It is as comforting as a mother’s love in a cold and unforgiving world. And if that sounds like hyperbole, you’ve never eaten a warm Krispy Kreme glazed donut.

5. Sons of Anarchy

I just finished the first season and I’m hooked for four reasons

– It’s a modern day take on Hamlet. Strong performances, strong writing and a hell of a strong foundation from which to build.
– Amazing soundtrack. Granted, I’ve been dipping my toe into the bluegrass/country pool as of late but Forever Young by Audra Mae and John The Revelator by Curtis Stigers are incredible pieces of music, regardless of genre.
– Its connection to The Shield — one of the finest dramas ever created. SOA and The Shield apparently take place in the same universe, both shows feature a lot of the same actors and showrunner Kurt Sutter worked as an executive producer on The Shield.
– Charlie Hunnam – loved him as Lloyd in Freaks and Geeks; love him as Jax Teller.

3 thoughts on “Holy Shit, I Love You! Or, Five Things I Love Right Now: A Classy Version of HSILY

  1. I love love LOVE The Lover’s Dictionary. I actually tabbed my favourite parts, and I probably read it three times last year. That is all.

Leave a Reply

